Preferences work by sending a cookie to your browser. The cookie is set to expire in one year.
 The username will show up in RecentChanges and at the bottom of each page as the user who last edited the page. If the corresponding page exists within STL (see HomePages?), then your name will also be linked.
 Bookmarks appear at the top in the left (yellow) side bar. They have to be valid wiki links, like the ones you put into square brackets. Hints:
- add "RandomPage|phpwiki:?random=1" to your bookmarks.
- add "Page info & history | phpwiki:?info=_referrer_" or "Latest page diff | phpwiki:?diff=_referrer_" to your bookmarks if you like to access these functions from the sidebar (they are also available at the bottom of every page)
- You can define up to four profiles (RC1 - RC4).
- Name: name the profile. The name appears on RecentChanges. By deleting a name you delete the profile. Deleting the name of RC1 deletes all profiles.
- Period: select the number of days you would like to have listed.
- Minor edits:
- "No minoredits": no minor edits are shown.
- "Watched pages": shows minor edits only for watched pages, but not for other pages.
- "All pages": show all minor edits
- Watched pages #1-#3: this relates to the three categories for watched pages. The first checkbox enables/disables the listing of these pages in RecentChanges. The HL checkbox enables/disables highlighting for these entries. By default category #3 pages are not shown in RecentChanges.
- Pages contributed: these are pages you have edited within the period of time of the profile. The first checkbox enables/disables the listing of these pages, the HL checkbox enables/disables highlighting for these entries. Note: category highlighting takes precedence over contribution highlighting.
- Other pages: any other pages, meaning pages that are not in one of the watched categories and have not been edited by you. The checkbox enables/disables the listing of these pages.
- Time stamps: wether or not the entries should be preceeded with a time stamp (hh:mm).
- Red line: enable/disable the red line feature. The red line indicates the time you last viewed RecentChanges. Anything above the red line are new entries, everything below the red line are old entries. The red line is only moved once every 30 minutes, i.e. if you visit RecentChanges within 30 minutes the red line is not moved. This is done for better usability.