Five Hundred And One Tesuji Problems / Errata
These errata refer to 'First Printing October 2005'
- p5, answer 3
- Wrong: If White ataries with 3, Black simply connects with 3.
- Right: If White ataries with 2, Black simply connects with 3.
- p6, answer 5
- Wrong: White no longer needs to worry about the exchange of White A for Black B.
- Right: Black no longer needs to worry about the exchange of White A for Black B.
- p22, answer 35
- Wrong: If White now ataries with 4 in Dia.2, White will double atari with 5.
- Right: If Black now ataries with 4 in Dia.2, White will double atari with 5.
- p34, answer 56.
- Wrong: If Black attacks at A, defending with Black B is sente.
- Right: If Black attacks at A, defending with White B is sente.
- p35, label for problem 62.
- Wrong: Black to play.
- Right: White to play.
- p40, answer 63.
- Wrong: If White answer Black 1 with 2 in Dia.2, Black blocks with 3.
- Right: If White answers Black 1 with 2 in Dia.2, Black blocks with 3.
- p64, answer 112.
- Wrong: White has linked up his stones and secured a large corner.
- Right: Black has linked up his stones and secured a large corner.
- p72, last line.
- Wrong: White gets ma ladder with 3 to 7 and captures some black stones.
- Right: White gets a ladder with 3 to 7 and captures some black stones.
- p80, answer 139, label for Dia. 2.
- Wrong: Failure
- Right: Variation
- p96.
- Wrong: Answer to Problem 175 (tsuke)
- Right: Answer to Problem 172 (tsuke)
- p97, answer 174.
- Wrong: ...weak groups after he connect with 6 (above 4).
- Right: ...weak groups after he connects with 6 (above 4).
- p118, answer 214, label for Dia. 2.
- Wrong: Failure
- Right: Variation
- p126, answer 233.
- Wrong: The clamp of 1 in Dia. 2 enables Black...
- Right: The clamp of 1 in Dia. 1 enables Black...
- p128, answer 235.
- Wrong: ...Black squeezes with 3 and 5, then extend to 7.
- Right: ...Black squeezes with 3 and 5, then extends to 7.
- p143, problem 269.
- Wrong: How can Black save his stone on the right side?
- Right: How can Black save his stones on the right side?
- p144, answer 265, label for Dia. 2.
- Wrong: Failure
- Right: Variation
- p151, problem 281, label.
- Wrong: How Black save his four stones on the right?
- Right: How can Black save his four stones on the right?
- p161, answer 290.
- Wrong: Answering White 3 with Black 4 in Dia. 2 lets White liink up without any problems.
- Right: Answering White 3 with Black 4 in Dia. 2 lets White link up without any problems.
- p164, answer 295.
- Wrong: White now has to connects with 8
- Right: White now has to connect with 8
- p165, answer 296, label for Dia. 2
- Wrong: Variation
- Right: Failure
- p168, answer 301, label for Dia. 2
- Wrong: Failure
- Right: Variation
- p168 & p169.
- Swap answer 301 with answer 303.
- p177, answer 315, label for Dia. 2
- Wrong: Failure
- Right: Variation
- p180, answer 321.
- Wrong: If White captures with A, Black ataries with B ...
- Right: If Black captures with A, White ataries with B ...
- Wrong: White blocks with4.
- Right: White blocks with 4.
- p180, answer 322.
- Wrong: The White stones are confined to the corner
- Right: The Black stones are confined to the corner
- p181.
- Swap answer 324 with answer 325.
- p199, problem 360.
- Wrong: ... how can Black capture the five marked black stones?
- Right: ... how can White capture the five marked black stones?
- p201, answer 360, label for Dia. 2
- Wrong: Continuation
- Right: Variation
- p204, answer 365, label for Dia. 3
- Wrong: Failure
- Right: Variation
- p212, answer 383.
- Wrong: After White ataries with 6, White can't capture the stones at 2 because his stones will be recaptured in a snapback.
- Right: After White ataries with 6, Black can't capture the stone at 2 because his stones will be recaptured in a snapback.
- p213, answer 385.
- Wrong: If Black jumps to 1 in Dia. 3, Black can take profit in the corner with 3.
- Right: If Black jumps to 1 in Dia. 3, White can take profit in the corner with 2.
- p215, problem 391, label.
- Wrong: How Black link up his stones?
- Right: How can Black link up his stones?
- p215; problems 392, & 394: labels.
- Wrong: How Black link up all his stones?
- Right: How can Black link up all his stones?
- p226, answer 409.
- Label for 3rd diagram.
- Wrong: Dia. 2. Continuation 2
- Right: Dia. 3. Continuation 2
- Label for 4th diagram.
- Wrong: Dia. 3. Failure
- Right: Dia. 4. Failure
- 4th diagram upside down.
- p237, problem 426.
- Wrong: If Black captures with 1 in Dia.3, White draws back to 3.
- Right: If Black captures with 2 in Dia.3, White draws back to 3.
- p239, problem 433.
- There should be an extra White stone at S16 - see answer diagrams p242
- p241, answer 432.
- Wrong: Black 1 in Dia 2 is a mistake.
- Right: White 1 in Dia 2 is a mistake.
- p245, answer 438.
- Wrong: If Black hanes with 2, Black jumps to 3
- Right: If Black hanes with 2, White jumps to 3
- p248, answer 445.
- Wrong: If Black defends with 4, Black 5 isolates the Black stone on the left.
- Right: If Black defends with 4, White 5 isolates the Black stone on the left.
- p252, answer 450.
- Wrong: Although White has captured two stones, White ends with a solid eye and sente.
- Right: Although Black has captured two stones, White ends with a solid eye and sente.
- p258, answer 461.
- Wrong: ...White can save his stones on the right and kill three of Black's with the hane of 3, but Black captures...
- Right: ...White can save his stones on the right and kill three of Black's with the hane of 2, but Black captures...
- p270, answer 479.
- Wrong: If White defends against this move, Black connect at B and White's five stones on the left are in trouble.
- Right: If White defends against this move, Black connects at B and White's five stones on the left are in trouble.
- p279, problem 494.
- Wrong: One of the White stones is misplaced. Should be a two space jump, instead of the one space jump.
- Right: See position in the answer p281