Beginner Exercise 16 / Solution

Sub-page of BeginnerExercise16
[Diagram]

Black lives

Black should make life as long as it's possible, even if it means losing the marked stones.

[Diagram]

Black dies in a snapback (W5 at 1)

Should White play at W3, the snapback will destroy Black's chance to make two eyes and the whole group dies.[1]

[Diagram]

Black dies outright

If Black plays atari at B2, White captures three stones with W3, which also destroys any chance of a second eye.



[1]

Anonymous: Question, given that you cannot take a stone that has just captured one of yours is not move 5 possible since 4 has just taken?

Answer: The rule is that if a single stone captures a single stone, that stone may not be taken back immediately. In the diagram 3 stones take a single stone at move 4, so those three stones may be captured on the next turn.


This is a copy of the living page "Beginner Exercise 16 / Solution" at Sensei's Library.
(OC) 2008 the Authors, published under the OpenContent License V1.0.
[Welcome to Sensei's Library!]
StartingPoints
ReferenceSection
About