![]() StartingPoints Referenced by
|
BQM101
Difficulty: Advanced
Keywords: EndGame, Question, Rules
Dieter: It's only when a tenacious club member starts to question that you realize you don't fully understand what's going on.
No prisoners. Both players have passed.[1] If I understand correctly, the Japanese rules determine positions with the rule that plays elsewhere count as a "pass for the ko involved" and do not count within the demonstration. As such, the upper left is seki. If it is White's turn she can turn it into seki. White cannot claim to have captured the corner, for ...
... On the other hand, Black can't claim any point either, for ...
Two questions:
Bill: The interpretation is not correct. In the Japanese encore a play does not substitute for a pass for a ko. In the second diagram, Black can reply to The assessment of the position is sort of correct, however. After play has ceased, the top left corner is seki. But somebody made a mistake.
White could have won by making the ko. Or Black could have prevented that by a play at 3 or 5. If the players discover this effective play and hence cannot agree to end the game, they both lose.
Or (much better), White requests a resumption of the game, Black makes a play at 3 or 5, and the result is jigo.
[1] Bill: But have they agreed on the status of the groups? Apparently not. Dieter: Thanks a lot Bill. Indeed we agreed it was a mistake to cease play. I forgot about the "both lose" rule. This is a copy of the living page "BQM101" at Sensei's Library. ![]() |