![]() StartingPoints Referenced by
|
Seki With Eyes Question
Keywords: Question, Rules
The explanation of Territory And Area Scoring is interesting, and i now think i almost understand the difference.
A position similar to this cropped up in one of my recent games. (Except that the game wasn't close, and was decided by resignation, so we didn't have to try to figure this out.) In this example, there are no prisoners, and White played last (both players have put down the same number of stones). Neither Black nor White can approach on the right without putting themselves in atari, so it is seki. White has an eye, and Black has an eye and a false eye... or is it really false, since White cannot approach the other end? My impression is that this seki scores nothing for either player under Japanese (territory) counting, but that both players would get some points for the seki under Chinese etc. (area) scoring. Is this correct? Ignoring the seki, White has 49 and Black has 48 (no komi, no prisoners). Accounting for the seki, what is the score under area scoring? What is the score under territory scoring? Thanks, - TakeNGive (11k) It is clearly a seki because there is a dame that neither player wants to fill. Under territory scoring the surrounded empty points in seki are not counted. White wins by 1. Under area scoring the 3 surrounded empty points in seki are counted (2 for Black, 1 for White), and also the stones in seki (10 for Black, 10 for White). Therefore it is jigo.
Oops, sorry. I shouldn't have substracted the difference between stones not in seki to compare the number or stones.
Area count: Therefore it is jigo. Another interesting seki with eyes:
The lower left corner of the board is a seki. Black can play at the dame point (corner), but the resulting 4-move cycle costs Black a stone under territory rules, so Black cannot loop indefinitely as in Eternal Life. This position may be a problem with poorly formulated area rules (i.e. without some sort of superko). Yet another interesting seki with eyes:
This is a seki too, even though White can capture the two Black stones in the corner (but does not benefit from doing so!). --jvt Just a related question : I remember having read that one set of rules actually split the points in a seki depending on which player has the most stones surrounding the 'eye' or shared liberty... ? Another example of seki with eyes (well, sort of) which has come up in my games a couple of times is given here. Although white has no real eyes, she is still alive in seki. At least once, after a throw-in to reduce blacks eye to 1 point, this shape won me the game.
This is a copy of the living page "Seki With Eyes Question" at Sensei's Library. (C) the Authors, published under the OpenContent License V1.0. |