Snapback Problem 23

  Difficulty: Intermediate   Keywords: Tactics, Problem
Another yose problem  

After white+circle Black decided to play a sente move at black+circle. White replied with W1; and Black played B2. That was a mistake. Punish.

MarcGaudet I don't understand why it was a mistake, it stopped white from invading, right?

What happened in the game  
What happened in the game (continued)  

White was very happy to close the territory and penetrate with W7 in the previous diagram in sente. But White missed an opportunity.


What did not happen in the game  

B4 is bad. W5 threatens the placement at B6.

HolIgor: Bill's answer is correct, of course. Yet, one of the variations features a snapback.

Bill: I believe I have found an improvement for Black.

Improvement for Black  

B1 connects. Now if W2, B3.


Qi B can play at 2.

This problem is unsolved.

Snapback Problem 23 last edited by MarcGaudet on January 2, 2010 - 23:08
RecentChanges · StartingPoints · About
Edit page ·Search · Related · Page info · Latest diff
[Welcome to Sensei's Library!]
Search position
Page history
Latest page diff
Partner sites:
Go Teaching Ladder
Login / Prefs
Sensei's Library