Golden Opportunities / Errata

Sub-page of GoldenOpportunities

I think some of us exploring a problem on KGS found an error in GoldenOpportunities. --BlueWyvern

Blue Wyvern: My bad, Rin did mention a ko at the bottom of the page, I just missed it. Stupid me. :-)

Black to save his poor stones.  

On page 149 this problem is presented.

One solution....  

Here is the first solution.

An alternate variation  

The book also has this solution. If white cuts at 'a', black plays 'b', and it's like the first solution. However, if white connects.....


The book gives this continuation and says white is powerless to resist after black connects at B2. However, on KGS we discovered this variation....


What if white plays the hane at W3? As far as we can figure this leads to a messy ko, not nearly as rosy a solution as the book paints. It's not precisely an error because this isn't included, but it the book makes it appear as if black has an easy ride after finding the above mentioned sequence. IS there something we are missing?

Golden Opportunities / Errata last edited by BlueWyvern on April 9, 2003 - 05:31
RecentChanges · StartingPoints · About
Edit page ·Search · Related · Page info · Latest diff
[Welcome to Sensei's Library!]
Search position
Page history
Latest page diff
Partner sites:
Go Teaching Ladder
Login / Prefs
Sensei's Library