BQM169

Path: BigQuestionMark   · Prev: BQM168   · Next: BQM170
    Keywords: EndGame, Question

What is the score in the following position? Must black fill a or are the white+circle stones considered dead without this move? Assume area counting (not Chinese) and no pass stones. Never mind that Black has lost either way. I'm interested in whether Black must play a or not.

[Diagram]

score?

Charles No need for Black to play inside: the white+circle stones are dead, despite the approach move at a.


[Diagram]

White disputes

Daniel: Even if white goes first here, the best she can do is put black in atari.

[Diagram]

White disputes con't

Now white has no legal moves in this part of the board...

Sandy Harris I do not think Black 4 is needed. Even without it, white has nothing.

ChrisSchack: No, it's not needed for life. Maybe it's to ensure the score comes out the same under territory rules?


Path: BigQuestionMark   · Prev: BQM168   · Next: BQM170
This is a copy of the living page "BQM169" at Sensei's Library.
(OC) 2012 the Authors, published under the OpenContent License V1.0.
[Welcome to Sensei's Library!]
StartingPoints
ReferenceSection
About