[Welcome to Sensei's Library!]

StartingPoints
ReferenceSection
About


Paths
HikaruNoGo

 

Hikaru No Go - Errata
Path: HikaruNoGo   · Prev: HikaruNoGoGames   · Next: IfLifeWasLikeHikaruNoGo
   

naruto3: In game nine it says that Hikaru has lost to Tetsuo Kaga by half a point with komi. But in the corner it is possible to force Tetsuo to play a move inside his territory. If Tetsuo refuses to react Hikaru can take and capture five of Tetsuo's stones. So no matter what Hikaru wins.


Rainier: I found this in episode 14 of the anime specifically during the ko fight between the kaio and haze first boards. If you watch the board when:

[Diagram]
Bottom Right Corner (1)

  • Mitani says he should just let kishimoto have the ko he plays here (1).

[Diagram]
Bottom Right Corner (2)

  • Then Kishimoto plays here (2) and takes the ko.

[Diagram]
Bottom Right Corner (3)

  • So the board should look like this (3).

[Diagram]
Bottom Right Corner (4)

  • But when the board is shown afterwards this is what it looks like. What happened with these two stones?? (4)


[Diagram]
19x19 diagram



Naustin-- This is shown in the community center class Hikaru attends. It is stated that after the marked black move "even if white were to play black's move, black captures two stones. Then all of white's stones in this area are dead." I can't see how this is true though. It seems to me if white plays 'a' white will live even without skipping a black turn.


[Diagram]
Killing Sequence

Shaydwyrm: I'm not sure what the bit about white playing black's move is all about, but here is a simple killing sequence for black.

Zarlan: Actually I checked with my Hikaru-scans (haven't bought the manga. Yet) and he says: "This is Black's best move. Even if White does this, let him take your two stones, but surround him. Then take this eye and White is dead."
I assume that the "even if white does this"-part is an answer from white (the move that Naustin suggested propably, as it involves the two black stones being captured)

Dart?: Isn't it white to play? The red circle stone was blacks last play? White lives if its white to play, but there's many ways to kill if it's blacks turn. But then again, I don't know the anime, so from reading it, it looks like it should be white to play.

Zarlan: Yes. In Naustins diagram and in the manga the "circled" stone is blacks last play, so it is whites turn, but whatever white does, it does not live, because black can kill it as you see in the following diagram (I have marked whites first move). Feel free to prove me wrong by showing a way for white to live.


[Diagram]
should kill here

No matter what white does he's lost if black plays 3 here.



Path: HikaruNoGo   · Prev: HikaruNoGoGames   · Next: IfLifeWasLikeHikaruNoGo
This is a copy of the living page "Hikaru No Go - Errata" at Sensei's Library.
(OC) 2004 the Authors, published under the OpenContent License V1.0.