![]() StartingPoints Paths Referenced by
|
Double Ko
Path: SecondCourseOnKo · Prev: HonKo · Next: DoubleKoQuestion
Difficulty: Beginner
Keywords: Ko
The diagram shows an occurrence of a double ko. (From LargeAvalancheTurnInward). The black group has one liberty (the marked eye) and two kos, giving him always two liberties. If White takes away a liberty by taking the ko at a, Black can take the ko at b. It is then up to White to find a ko threat. Black can answer the ko threat, and when White recaptures at b, Black takes at a. It is again White who has to play a ko threat, which Black can answer. It should be clear that White cannot win in this situation - she is dead in double ko. A point worth mentioning is that a double ko can serve as an infinite supply of ko-threats to the player at a disadvantage (in this case, White). This is because White a does require Black to answer at b and vice versa. This means that White will win any ko on the board which is worth less than the double ko. TakeNGive (11k): Wow. What happens to this kind of shape under the Ing Ko Rules? unkx80: White is dead, and if I'm not wrong, White has only two ko-threats under the Ing Ko Rules, not an infinite number. See Disturbing Kos for more information. TakeNGive: Thanks unkx. A double ko recently came up in my tournament game. Luckily for me, we were not using Ing rules; but I'm curious whether this was a disturbing or fighting ko, and whether the line of play would have been legal under Ing rules. Please have a look at my DoubleKoQuestion.
This situation would be like a double ko for both sides, so both sides would have infinite ko threats. Wouldn't any additional ko that is worth less than this corner then lead to a TripleKo? --Harleqin Path: SecondCourseOnKo · Prev: HonKo · Next: DoubleKoQuestion This is a copy of the living page "Double Ko" at Sensei's Library. ![]() |