Yose Jiten / Errata

Path: <= Endgame =>
Sub-page of YoseJiten

Table of diagrams
Black error
Tedomari
Technically correct
Another Black error
Correct response

Bill: Kano gives the following diagram as a Black error (diagram 2, p. 20).

[Diagram]
Black error  

Indeed, Black has erred, but Kano blames B1. Kano ignores the fact that B3 and W8 are miai, and that Black's error is B3.

[Diagram]
Tedomari  

Kano then shows this diagram (diagram 3), for Black to get tedomari.

W4 at W9 is better technique, but Black can still get tedomari with B6.

[Diagram]
Technically correct  

B3 also gets tedomari, and B1 - B3 is technically correct play.

B1 - B3 is usually wrong. As it has an atomic weight of 1, Black should normally let White play on those points. But in this case it is the technically correct play, because W4 and B7 are miai, and cancel each other out.

See Infinitesimals.

Note: B1, -- and, in fact, the whole play --, shows that Kano assumed that the surrounding area was White's territory. See Assumptions of Yose Problems.

-- BillSpight

The diagrams are on the subject of Miai and Tedomari. What the book says is that there are three 2-point gote plays in the starting position. Because B1 is sente by itself it may look attractive to play it and then turn away. However this is incorrect thinking as W6 has become a forcing move that will give White tedomari as shown above. The correct play is to take one of the three 2-pointers, leaving the other two as miai (the example in diagram 3 in the book is playing the upper side hane and connection, leaving the other two plays as miai).

So I do not think this is an erratum. It is simply an example of incorrect play. Dave

Bill: I don't get the turn away implication in the phrase, which is tsui kuro 1 no de wo uchiso desu ga. I would render that as, it seems like Black can just play the de at 1, but.... or it seems like Black can play the de at 1 without thinking, but.....

Dave: Kano is just trying to illustrate the idea of losing tedomari through careless play. That is the only point of these diagrams. This is not from a problem, rather it is the explanatory material at the beginning of the book. Could he have picked a better example? Sure. Is it an erratum? Nope! (By the way, "Sente dakara to, tsui kuro 1 no de wo uchiso desu ga,...". If Black did not turn away it would not be sente, no? :-)

Bill: Good point, Dave! :-)

Still, if Kano regarded treating B1 as sente as the problem, why not give the Technically correct diagram in the book instead of the Tedomari diagram (which I just now posted)? That diagram suggests taking one of the two miai instead of the remaining play. As it happens, Black can still get tedomari, but canceling out the miai plays is the right way to think about it.

Dave: Kanno never analyzes the position. He uses it to show one example of incorrect thinking and moves on. Since the points you raise are valid in a larger sense, I suggest you rename the page and link it into other relevant material on SL. It does not belong in a list of errata since: (1) technically [ext] it isn't and (2) people who are interested in the subject will not normally find it.

Kano regarded the middle play as gote. That is problematic, but he did not have the concept of ambiguous play.

[Diagram]
Another Black error  

W1 is not gote. If Black ignores it he gives White one more point.

[Diagram]
Correct response  




Path: <= Endgame =>
Yose Jiten / Errata last edited by PeterHB on June 5, 2008 - 23:07
RecentChanges · StartingPoints · About
Edit page ·Search · Related · Page info · Latest diff
[Welcome to Sensei's Library!]
RecentChanges
StartingPoints
About
RandomPage
Search position
Page history
Latest page diff
Partner sites:
Go Teaching Ladder
Goproblems.com
Login / Prefs
Tools
Sensei's Library